Local Exemption Information
Application for Residential Homestead Exemption ~ Form is also used when applying for the Over-65 exemption
Changes in Texas Property Tax Laws
Affecting Residential Homestead Exemptions
82 Legislative Session (Regular Session)
Effective September 1, 2011, state law requires the following in order to qualify for a residential homestead exemption (Sec 11.13, Texas Property Tax Code).
You must provide WCAD with a copy of either your Texas driver’s license or Texas ID card.
The address on your driver’s license or state ID card must match the physical address of the residence for which you are applying.
Remember: Your physical street address must match the address on your driver’s license or state ID card. Both documents must have the same address.
Other Important Information required to accomany some Homestead Exemption applications:
Include with applications that include a request for an AGE 65 OR OLDER OR DISABLED exemption:
In addition to the information identified above, an applicant for an age 65 or older or disabled exemption who is not specifically identified on a deed or other instrument recorded in the applicable
real property records as an owner of the residence homestead must provide an affidavit or other compelling evidence establishing the applicant’s ownership of an interest in the homestead.
Include with an application for a request for a 100% DISABLED VETERANS exemption:
In addition to the information identified above, an applicant for a 100% disabled veterans exemption or the surviving spouse of a disabled veteran who qualified for the 100% disabled veteran’s
exemption must provide documentation from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or its successor indicating that the veteran received 100 percent disability compensation due to a
service-connected disability and had a rating of 100 percent disabled or individual unemployability.
Include with applications for MANUFACTURED HOMES homestead exemption:
For a manufactured home to qualify for a residence homestead, applicant must ALSO include:
1) A copy of the statement of ownership and location for the manufactured home issued by the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs showing that the applicant is the owner of the manufactured home;
2) A copy of the purchase contract or payment receipt showing that the applicant is the purchaser of the manufactured; or
3) A sworn affidavit by the applicant indicating that:
a) the applicant is the owner of the manufactured home;
b) the seller of the manufactured home did not provide the applicant with a purchase contract; and
c) the applicant could not locate the seller after making a good faith effort.
Jurisdiction Exemptions ~ Also shows taxing jurisdiction codes and exemption amounts.